Spri-Hian wins first place at ASPA awards
Spri-Hian wins first place at ASPA awards

SHS's newspaper, Spri-Hian, proudly took first place in the American Scholastic Press Association's (ASPA) annual contest for high school newspapers for the second year in a row.

The Spri-Hian is Springfield High School's student-run newspaper since 1932 and has been published by the Springfield School District with the purpose to inform and entertain the student body of Springfield High School.

Advisor Michael Cianfrani says, "Our kids work hard and give it their best every day. As you know, the challenges of publishing anything can be very daunting for teenagers.  From brainstorming to final edits, our students tackle these challenges beyond the expectations of a high school journalist."

The Spri-Hian was judged among other high school newspapers in the county for its page design, story layout, graphics, headlining, cover design and photography.  The ASPA newspaper judge stated our student writers should be commended for their "attention to detail, the layout and for creating a large publication." 

Click here to view the April edition of Spri-Hian.

The following members of Spri-Hian should be congratulated on their hard work:

Editors-in-Chief: Grace Dougherty and Alexa Mihiata

News Editors: Madeline Kistler

Opinion Editor: Tyler Engberg

Arts and Entertainment Editor: Agnes Tai

Sports Editor: Erick Klambara

Staff Writers: Danielle DeLuca, Ashley Ellis, Jamie Galloway, Seth Guinard, James Hay, Michael Reiter, Madyson Roth, Matthew Santarelli and Joshua Thorpe